My Breakfast Granola Recipe

Breakfast has always been a little tricky for me. Everyone says ‘it’s the most important meal of the day’, and to me it really is! Because of my food intolerances, if I eat something in the morning that doesn’t like me, it can completely throw me off for the rest of the day! I spent ages trialing different breakfast options….breads, fibre flakes, free from cornflakes and for a long time I would just have a plain bowl of rice puffs because I knew it wouldn’t make me feel unwell! This became a bit of an issue, as I’d get only a little past breakfast and have zero energy and be super hungry again; and I’m not a pleasant person when I’m hungry……

I then moved on to forcing myself to eat porridge with some fruit. As much as I want to like it, I just can’t, and fruit in the morning isn’t something I can stomach. However, the porridge oats were actually helping my energy levels (FINALLY!). This is when I decided to do my research and I stumbled across a recipe for Granola. I’d never really considered it before, mainly because shop bought granola is full of added sugar (thumbs down). Most people will sprinkle some granola on their yoghurts etc, or have it with milk, but I actually just eat this on its own. I know it suits me this way, so I’m not planning to change it up just yet, but you could totally have it however you want.

On the weekend we are heading off to stay in Porthcurno for a week, so I thought it would be the perfect time to share the recipe as I make (with my assistant Gareth) a big batch of it for our time away.

INGREDIENTS (ish):

  • 2 Cups of Gluten free rolled oats (Don’t worry about the gluten free bit if you’re okay with it!)
  • 2 tablespoons of Coconut oil
  • ¼ – ½ cup of chopped nuts (My favs are Hazelnuts and Brazil nuts!)
  • ¼ cup of mixed seeds (If the mixed seeds don’t contain Chia seeds I add 2 tablespoons of Chia seeds)
  • 2 or 3 tablespoons of honey or golden syrup

Additional/optional Ingredients:

  • ¼ Chopped dried fruit (I personally can’t have this due to my diet restrictions, but it would sweeten it up and be a yummy addition!)
  • 1 Teaspoon of Vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 140 degrees.
  2. Using a knife, or a handy chopper machine – chop the nuts.
  3. Melt the coconut oil, and then add the honey/golden syrup and mix.
  4. In a bowl combine the oats, nuts, seeds and mix thoroughly.
  5. Next add coconut oil + honey/golden syrup. Using your hands, mix well and ensure there aren’t too many clumps.
  6. Line a tray with tin-foil, then spread a thin layer of the mixture on the tray.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes – then take it out of the oven and using a fork mix the oats around to get a more even bake and prevent it from sticking.
  8. Put it back in the oven for approx another 10 minutes or until golden brown.

As with all things, it’s a bit of trial and error. With this recipe you can adapt it to suit you; and as long as you keep a close eye on it while it cooks, it’ll be fine! I guarantee it will keep you feeling fuller for longer. You can experiment with the types of ingredients you choose, but I use certain ones for their healthy benefits, such as the ones below…

Why the oats?

  •  They contain type of soluble fibre that slows down the absorption of carbohydrates into the bloodstream. This slower digestion prevents dramatic spikes in blood sugar and insulin levels that would otherwise encourage our bodies to produce and store fat.
  • They are a rich source of magnesium.

Why the Chia seeds?

  • They deliver a massive amount of nutrients without large amounts of calories.
  •  They are full of antioxidants.

Why the Brazil nuts?

  • They improve the digestive process.
  •  Boost the health of your heart.
  • Aid skin health.

Why the Hazelnuts?

  • Full of healthy fats to help heart health.
  • Good source of Vitamin E (important in maintaining healthy skin, hair and nails).
  • Good source of B vitamins (important in proper cell and energy metabolism).
  •  A rich source of potassium, calcium and magnesium- these minerals provide many health benefits.

Why the Coconut Oil?

  • Improves digestion.
  • Helps provide immunity to a variety of diseases and infections.
  • Improves the ability of our body to absorb important minerals.

Aside from just a few of the amazing health benefits listed above, it is so easy to make (and fun!), but most of all…it tastes DELICIOUS! Obviously I don’t have it for breakfast every day, and you don’t have to either. If kept in a container/jar, this will stay yummy for at least 2 weeks. So why don’t you try it and change your breakfast a little…

Leave a Reply

