Musical Theatre Christmas Playlist (Blogmas Day 6)

For those of you that know me, you’ll know that I am a major lover of all things Musical Theatre. For those of you that don’t know me and haven’t worked it out yet, ‘I AM A MAJOR LOVER OF ALL THINGS MUSICAL THEARE’. So, instead of creating your standard Christmas playlist, I have created this ‘Musical Theatre’ Christmas themed playlist. I hope fellow Musical Theatre lovers enjoy it, and for those of you who are less familiar, have a listen! Although there are many more songs out there, I’ve done my research and come up with the following list of some of my favourites…

*Fingers crossed there’s something for everyone*

So, in no particular order…

 

  1. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – (Meet Me in St Louis) – 1944

 Judy Garland singing…need I say anything more?

 

2.  Merry Christmas, Maggie Thatcher – (Billy Elliot) – 2005

It wouldn’t be a Christmas Musical Theatre playlist if I didn’t include this! If you haven’t seen the ‘Billy Elliot Live’ DVD, put it on your Christmas wish list – you won’t regret it!

 

3. We Need A Little Christmas – (Mame) – 1966

If Angela Lansbury singing this doesn’t make you feel all warm inside this Christmas, then I don’t know what will?

 

4. Christmas Bells – (Rent) – 1996

 Genius composition by Jonathan Larson.

 

5. 12 days to Christmas – (She Loves Me) – 1963

 Especially with the 2016 Broadway and West End revivals, I had to include this fantastic number!

 

6. I don’t remember Christmas – (Starting Here, Starting Now) – 1993

This is probably not as well known as some of the others, but it’s a fantastic Musical Theatre song that is kind of related to Christmas! It’s from a musical revue that explores a variety of romantic relationships with lyrics by Richard Maltby, Jr. and music by David Shire. Check it out! It was originally created in 1976 but the original London  cast recording wasn’t until 1993!

 

7. Christmas Lullaby – (Songs For a New World) – 1995

*My personal favourite* This just had to be on the list. Jason Robert Brown never fails to provoke emotion, and this song is just beautiful. (Also, if you’re a fellow Soprano, it’s lovely to sing!)

 

8. All I want for Christmas (Is a one night stand) – (Nuncrackers: The Nunsense Christmas Musical) – 2001

From the third sequel to the Nunsense Musicals… A great comedic song (and fun for those belters out there)!

 

9. A Place Called Home – (A Christmas Carol the Musical) – 1994

Although I am not a MASSIVE fan of this musical, I know that lots of people are, so I had to include it! I do however, really like this very touching song.

 

10. Christmas is my Favourite time of year – (Catch me if you Can) – 2009

Mark Shaimen and Scott Wittman created the music and lyrics for this really popular Musical. Enjoy!

 

11. ELF THE MUSICAL – 2010:

  • A Christmas Song
  • There is A Santa Clause
  • SparkleJollyTwinkleJingley
  • Never Fall in Love with an Elf

You know what…let’s just say every song in this Musical! The musical is based on the film of the same name (which we all love). If you haven’t checked this musical out, my Christmas gift to you is suggesting it. I won’t post every song…but here’s the link to ‘A Christmas Song’ and ‘Never fall in love with an Elf’ (My love for this song in particular is too much!!!).

 

12. WHITE CHRISTMAS – 1954:

  • Snow
  • White Christmas

White Christmas is such a classic Christmas Musical. The songs by Irving Berlin are timeless. If you haven’t seen the film musical, stop what you are doing right now and watch it! My Christmas wish is to be blessed with Vera-Ellens dancing ability (Just watch the film and you’ll understand!). It’s not Christmas without Bing Crosby…

H A P P Y  L I S T E N I N G 🙂

 

Twitter – @blog_little (or search TheLittleThingsBlog)

Instagram – Thelittlethingsblog.tlt

2 thoughts on “Musical Theatre Christmas Playlist (Blogmas Day 6)

Leave a Reply

