My Favourite Christmas Movies (Blogmas Day 10)

It wouldn’t be Blogmas if I didn’t share some of my favourite Christmas movies. FYI – they’re in order of release, due to the fact that it just wouldn’t be humanly possible for me to single out specific favourites!

 

  1. Meet Me in St.Louis (1944)

This film introduced the song ‘Have yourself a merry little Christmas’, which I just love. I’ve watched this every December since I was little and I adore it. The music, the costumes, the story… and of course Judy Garland – what’s not to love?

tumblr_n98dl1HH4E1thh46do4_250.gif

 

  1. It’s A Wonderful Life (1946)

My family are big fans of James Stewart, so of course we love this film. One year we managed to see it on a big screen and the round of applause at the end just demonstrated how it is so loved by all.

tumblr_njdnwbldbs1rnmez3o1_500

 

  1. Miracle on 34th Street (1947 + 1994)

These films (the original and updated version!) are so heart warming. The casting of a young Natalie Wood (AKA Maria in WSS OR Gypsy Rose in Gypsy for you Musical Theatre fans) in the original and Mara Wilson (AKA Matilda) in the 1994 version, as Susan just make me enjoy this film even more.

giphy.gif

 

  1. White Christmas (1954)

If you’ve read my Christmas tag (Blogmas Day 1)  you’ll already know I love this Musical.  I adore the catchy songs of this classic!

tumblr_ngr9eqrt6a1qzogw6o1_500

 

  1. Uncle Buck (1989)

I watch this film all year round. No matter how many times I watch it, I never fail to fill the room with my ridiculous laughter. Brilliant actors. Brilliant comedy. *FUN FACT* The idea for Home Alone originated from this scene!

 

  1. National Lampoons Christmas Vacation (1989)

A modern Christmas classic – full of timeless comedy!

albxv

 

  1. Home Alone (1 and 2) (1990 – 1992)

Do I really need to say anything in particular about these films? Surely two of the most loved Christmas films of all time. Christmas isn’t complete without Kevin Mccallister.

home-alone-2-gif

 

  1. The Grinch (2000)

*Sings* ‘Where are you Christmas…’ Based on the Dr Seuss children’s book, we all love the bizareness of Whoville!

tumblr_melcmxbnak1rf4w6ao1_250

 

  1. Elf (2003)

I am 100% guilty of putting this on every time I see it on the movie channel. It just makes me so ridiculously happy. We could all do with being a bit more cheery like Buddy the Elf.

772907

 

  1. Nativity! (2009)

My boyfriend Gareth introduced this to me a few years ago (Thank you!). Adorable children singing and dancing + Martin Freeman + Pam Ferris +  the Nativity story = A great combination for a British Christmas comedy. 

Who wants to watch ‘Nativity!’ now?…

nativity06

 

I could have included so many more (e.g. Muppets Christmas Carol, The Santa Clause etc)! I just adore curling up on the sofa with a good old festive film!

What are your favourites? I’d love to know if there are any you think I need to watch…

I’ve got my popcorn ready!

4 thoughts on “My Favourite Christmas Movies (Blogmas Day 10)

  1. No “are you listening web”. I hate the home alone ones too. Watching Lampoon’s Xmas vacation is mandatory at our house at Xmas. Just watching the neighbours falling over the furniture when the Grisswals turn on the Xmas lights is priceless. Love it’s a Wonderful Life & Miracle on 34th street too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

