We Built A Gingerbread House (Kinda!) (Blogmas Day 22)

Yesterday, Gareth and I spent an afternoon attempting the festive activity of building and decorating a gingerbread house. I obviously can’t eat it due to my food intolerances (and to be honest I don’t think anyone will end up eating it), but it was hilarious to make!

We put on the festive tunes and began; it turns out that it’s actually a lot more difficult than it looks, so the fact we managed to get it to even hold together amazes me. I won’t tell you what to do because we made so many errors that it would probably be easier to explain what NOT to do. But, hey… we managed to assemble it and decorate it (the gold icing spray even made an appearance) – it could have ended up a lot worse.

 If you do choose to build a gingerbread house with a friend, be prepared to set aside a good amount of time, make a mess, get frustrated, giggle a lot, wish you were Mary Berry, get confused, and ultimately  finish feeling like you need a lie down after completing a massive challenge.      

15673154_10210881545342250_1967478125_n
This is what it looked like on the box…
15666131_10210881533661958_419156901_n
This is what ours looked like…

I am so glad that I’ve finally made a gingerbread house (well, put together at least) – childhood dream fulfilled. Enhanced by the scent coming from my Dad making ‘mulled wine’ as I write this, today has felt like a very festive day.

 

Twitter – @blog_little (or search TheLittleThingsBlog)

Instagram – Thelittlethingsblog.tlt

4 thoughts on “We Built A Gingerbread House (Kinda!) (Blogmas Day 22)

  1. I actually think that you did a great job. Correct me if I am wrong but I think that decorating ediable Xmas houses is an American tradition. When our son was about 4 my best friend from America sent our son an edible Xmas house as a Xmas present. It was like yours, it required assembling. I hate to admit it but we never properly completed it; we found it too hard. So well done Alannah & Gareth to have had the persivience to complete it. I loved seeing the final product.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

