Dear 2016… (Blogmas Day 23)

Dear 2016,

We started off okay; in fact we started off great. Improvements were being made and this was going to be a successful year of big changes and then you threw in a few too many challenges. You made me feel a bit lost,thank you for all the things that you gave me, nevertheless I’d like to say goodbye.

This isn’t where I thought I’d be ending 2016, I don’t quite know exactly what I imagined, but it definitely wasn’t this. You raised my hopes with all those great opportunities you so generously gave to me, however you seemed to also enjoy pushing all those opportunities further and further away from me as you threw in unexpected hurdles, the biggest one being the one I could have done without – anxiety.

Yes you’ve left me with beautiful memories, but you’ve also left me with a lot of confusion. I think you tried to challenge me a few too many times and it has made me exhausted and unfocused. 2016, you haven’t been very balanced and there were times where it got too much for me, but maybe that’s what you wanted to show me… to show me that I am still okay after all of those things?

Your direction hasn’t been at all clear. I always thought I liked surprises. That’s until you introduced me to ‘bad’ surprises. But at least I’ll be more prepared for whatever 2017 hands me.

2016, you taught me that there are times to stop and step back before it gets too much. However, there are times to push through and persevere. There are also times I need to be really brave and do things that maybe I don’t want to do, but I know, deep down, I should.

Thank you for testing me and thank you for making me learn, however could you tell 2017 to go about it an easier route please?

You introduced a lot of new faces into my life. Some of them are still here, some of them pop up now and again, and some of them I never want to see again. Thanks for all of them, the bad and the good, because they’ve all taught me a great deal this year; and although you’ve been a difficult year, my biggest thanks is for letting me keep my favourite people.

Don’t think I am ungrateful because honestly i’m not; I am so lucky to have all the things I do. I know now that the mistakes were lessons; however, 2016 you can keep all the tears, arguments, doubt, confusion and exhaustion and I’ll just be taking the smiles, laughter, positivity and useful lessons with me into 2017.

For now 2016, let’s make the most of you before you go and fill the time with loved ones and laughter.

Goodbye 2016!

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language 
And next year’s words await another voice.” 
― T.S Elliot

 

Twitter – @blog_little (or search TheLittleThingsBlog)

Instagram – Thelittlethingsblog.tlt

 

One thought on “Dear 2016… (Blogmas Day 23)

Leave a Reply

