Blogger Recognition Award – 2017

Thank you so much to ‘RubiRubiMakeup’ (https://rubirubimakeup.wordpress.com/) for nominating me. I honestly can’t get my head around the fact people actually read and enjoy my posts, let alone the fact my blog has been nominated to get greater recognition; it means a lot.

‘The Little Things Blog’ started in May 2016, so it’s all relatively new to me. I wanted to start a blog long before this, however the usual questions occurred – what will I write about? Who will read it? And of course, will people think differently of me? One day I sat down with Gareth and explained what I wanted to do and he said go for it, and I should just write about whatever I want to write about  – we agreed I’d write about all ‘The Little Things’ in my life that I think, feel, do, etc. I’d always felt I needed to have a certain type of blog, but as I began writing, I made the decision to not limit myself to a specific style, and so this blog has evolved into a combination of things, but I guess it’s closest to a ‘lifestyle’ blog.

At this time, I don’t think many people were aware that I actually suffer with anxiety. My anxiety tends to be hidden and I never scream and shout about it. I was worried about discussing it on my blog for this very reason; people I know might read it and learn about how I often feel and sadly, as I have learned, it does change the way people see you. But if I wasn’t going to be honest about it, who was? So the blog also became a platform for me to be honest, whilst also helping others.

This is also my little part of the internet where I can distract myself and let out some of that ‘inner monologue’ I carry around with me!

I don’t feel qualified to give advice as I have absolutely no idea what I am doing here and wordpress is still a mystery to me (if anyone wants to educate me on how I can alter the layouts and format of my blog with more detail, please do !) . . . My two pieces of advice for new bloggers are :

  1. JUST WRITE! Don’t worry about what other people are saying or thinking. If you have something you want to write about – do it. It’s honestly such a massive thing to put your words out there for others to read and not everyone is going to like it or agree with it. I have a mental list of things I would like to write about on this blog and I am still working up the courage! You don’t need to stick to a ‘theme’, you don’t need hundreds of followers, just write because you have something that you want to say.
  1. Create a notebook of ideas. I guarantee that once you get in the flow of things, you’ll lie in bed at 1am with a blog post idea, so make sure you have a little book you can fill with ideas.

P.S (I know I am only meant to give 2 – but I also want to add, try Blogmas. It shows you that you can write about ANYTHING and you get to meet lots of other bloggers!)

 

I would like to nominate these three blogs, for their beautiful and courageous posts:

To The Moon and The Stars – http://tothemoonandthestars.com/

My Blurred World – https://myblurredworld13.wordpress.com/

Beth Denny – https://bethdenny.co.uk/

 

Thank you not only to ‘Rubirubimakeup’ but to everyone else that takes the time to listen to what I have to say.

Here are the rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Select a blogger/bloggers you want to give this award to.Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

 

Twitter – @blog_little (or search TheLittleThingsBlog)

Instagram – Thelittlethingsblog.tlt

11 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award – 2017

  1. Good onya Petal. Ideas are important but they gain life through the written word. Keep at it. Proud I am I am!  xxxdad

    From: The Little Things To: egan_ged@yahoo.co.uk Sent: Tuesday, 31 January 2017, 9:12 Subject: [New post] Blogger Recognition Award – 2017 #yiv3507357520 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3507357520 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3507357520 a.yiv3507357520primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3507357520 a.yiv3507357520primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3507357520 a.yiv3507357520primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3507357520 a.yiv3507357520primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3507357520 WordPress.com | TheLittleThings posted: “Thank you so much to ‘RubiRubiMakeup’ (https://rubirubimakeup.wordpress.com/) for nominating me. I honestly can’t get my head around the fact people actually read and enjoy my posts, let alone the fact my blog has been nominated to get greater recognition” | |

    Like

  2. Hi Alannah, I have been really busy, so I have only read your new blog now. Thank you for being so brave. You are very corageous in respect to opening up your heart, allowing your readers to know the struggles you experience on a daily basis.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

